Cass Baptist Church is nestled away in the piney woods of North East Texas. The citizens of Cass began their public worship on August 23, 1908 in an old two story school house. After the official organization of Cass Baptist Church, the men of the community, Bob Lee, Jesse Nichols, Edgar Phillips, Eli Davis, Phay Philpot, Will Miers and a few others took their oldest sons to the woods to begin cutting logs for lumber for construction of the church house. Bob Lee and Phay Philpot furnished wagons to haul the logs from the woods to the mill. It took several years of hard work and labor to raise enough money and materials to build the church house. The church house was completed in 1923. The local farmers and their families worshiped in the unfurnished church house until they were able to sell enough of their own produce to furnish it. The first person to pastor Cass Baptist Church was J.H. Hanson, the first clerk was W.E. Philpot, and the first deacon of the church was J.M. Perritt. The current church house was dedicated the 1st Sunday in October 1970.